A complete history of SnoRiders’ SledTown ShowDown

With nine seasons in the books, SledTown ShowDown has a varied and captivating history

by Kyle Born

SnoRiders’ SledTown ShowDown is the most popular snowmobiling competition in Western Canada. Ever since SledTown ShowDown began back in 2015, sledders in British Columbia, Alberta, Saskatchewan and Manitoba have been voting and rallying support for their favourite snowmobiling destinations. With nine seasons in the books, SledTown ShowDown has a varied and captivating history. Below, you’ll find every notable result from each year of SledTown ShowDown, from provincial winners to contest champions (including 2016 when Houston, B.C., and Yorkton, Saskatchewan, tied because of a voting issue in the finals).

SledTown ShowDown winners/champions:

2023: Tumbler Ridge, B.C.
2022: Flin Flon, Manitoba
2021: Lac du Bonnet, Manitoba
2020: Flin Flon, Manitoba
2019: Tumbler Ridge, B.C.
2018: McBride, B.C.
2017: Sicamous, B.C.
2016: Houston, B.C., and Yorkton, Saskatchewan (tie)
2015: Swan Valley, Manitoba

Provincial champions:

British Columbia

2023: Tumbler Ridge
2022: McBride
2021: McBride
2020: McBride
2019: Tumbler Ridge
2018: McBride
2017: Sicamous
2016: Houston
2015: Valemount


2023: Swan Hills
2022: Swan Hills
2021: Fort McMurray
2020: Edson
2019: Edson
2018: Crowsnest Pass
2017: Whitecourt
2016: Athabasca
2015: Whitecourt


2023: Hudson Bay
2022: Hudson Bay
2021: Nipawin
2020: Hudson Bay
2019: Hudson Bay
2018: Carrot River/Arborfield
2017: Yorkton
2016: Yorkton
2015: Hudson Bay


2023: Thompson
2022: Flin Flon
2021: Lac du Bonnet
2020: Flin Flon
2019: Flin Flon
2018: Powerview/Pine Falls
2017: Beausejour
2016: Swan Valley
2015: Swan Valley

New to the contest? This is how it works: we start with 16 destinations from each Western province in Canada. Each round, our readers vote for their favourites and the destinations get whittled down. By Round 4, we’ll have our provincial winners, which will go head-to-head until only one town remains to be crowned the SledTown ShowDown Champion of Western Canada.

Here’s what the winner gets:

A shiny SledTown trophy, bragging rights and feature articles on SnoRidersWest.com. Plus, it is a chance to raise positive awareness of snowmobiling and to recognize local clubs for all their hard work.

Social media plays a big role in this contest so be sure to hit “share” after you vote to let your friends know about the contest. You can also follow SnoRiders on Facebook, Instagram and Twitter for quick updates during the contest. Feel free to tag us in photos and use the #SledTownShowDown to promote your favourite town.

If you’re on our e-Newsletter list, you’ll also get SledTown ShowDown news, plus our best snowmobiling stories, each month. Not on the list? Sign up here.

Related Articles

SledTown ShowDown Tumbler Ridge races to narrowest victory in SledTown ShowDown history

From 64 Western Canadian snowmobiling destinations, Tumbler Ridge, British Columbia, has emerged as the SledTown ShowDown 2023 champion

by Kyle Born
SledTown ShowDown SledTown ShowDown: Tumbler Ridge tussles with Thompson!

2 snowmobiling destinations, Tumbler Ridge, British Columbia, and Thompson, Manitoba, go head-to-head during Round 6 of SledTown ShowDown 2023

by Kyle Born
Round 5 of SnoRiders SledTown Showdown begins.
SledTown ShowDown Round 5: SledTown ShowDown is down to the final four

Tumbler Ridge, BC; Swan Hills, AB; Hudson Bay, SK; Thompson, MB are your final four provincial SledTown ShowDown 2023 champions

View all SledTown ShowDown articles