2020 SledTown ShowDown Round 5: Final four go head-to-head

SledTown semi-finals: Provincial battle lines have been drawn

A graphic for SledTown ShowDown. Round 5. Final 4.
McBride, B.C., Edson, Alberta, Hudson Bay, Saskatchewan, and Flin Flon, Manitoba are the 2020 SledTown ShowDown provincial champions. The provincial winners now go head-to-head in the semi-finals to determine who will advance to the final round of the contest.

The field has been set for the semi-finals of SledTown ShowDown now that we know who the provincial representatives are—McBride, B.C., Edson, Alberta, Hudson Bay, Saskatchewan, and Flin Flon, Manitoba. With the exception of B.C., we have repeat winners from last year’s contest. But the true test now comes for these repeat victors looking to claim the ultimate prize: being crowned SledTown ShowDown champion—along with all the hoopla that goes with it. Now is the time to rally your province to vote for your provincial representative, lest they end up embarrassed and get subjected to the walk of “Shame! Shame! Shame!” like in Game of Thrones.

Here are a few of the highlights from Round 4:


The defending SledTown ShowDown champion, Tumbler Ridge (41%), has been dispatched by the 2018 SledTown champion, McBride (59%). McBride looks to return to its glory of two years ago and reclaim its throne as SledTown ShowDown champion.

There were 3,745 votes cast in B.C. during Round 4.

Congratulations to McBride, British Columbia’s 2020 SledTown ShowDown provincial champion!


After three straight rounds of racking up the most votes in the province, Edson (64%) has done it for the fourth straight round to dismantle Fox Creek (36%). This is the second consecutive year that Edson defeated Fox Creek to become champion.

There were 2,766 votes cast in Alberta during Round 4.

Congratulations to Edson, Alberta’s 2020 SledTown ShowDown provincial champion!


For the second straight year, Hudson Bay (56%) pulled their way to provincial prominence by edging out Carrot River/Arborfield (44%). This is the third time that Hudson Bay has represented Saskatchewan as the provincial winner of SledTown ShowDown.

There were 2,745 votes cast in Saskatchewan during Round 4.

Congratulations to Hudson Bay, Saskatchewan’s 2020 SledTown ShowDown provincial champion!


Throughout SledTown ShowDown 2020, Flin Flon has consistently garnered the most votes of any destination across all provinces. The strong voter support continued into the provincial finals to help Flin Flon (54%) get past a tough competitor in Thompson (46%).

There were 8,897 votes cast in Manitoba during Round 4.

Congratulations to Flin Flon, Manitoba’s 2020 SledTown ShowDown provincial champion!

Total votes from all provinces in Round 1: 9,578.
Total votes from all provinces in Round 2: 11,041.
Total votes from all provinces in Round 3: 17,745.
Total votes from all provinces in Round 4: 18,153.
Total votes for the entire competition (so far): 56,517!

The polls are open and it’s time to cast your votes for Round 5 in the 6th annual SledTown ShowDown. Head over to the main contest page and vote once a day until the current round closes.

Round 5 runs from February 3 to 16.

New to the contest? This is how it works: we start with 16 destinations from each Western province in Canada. Each round, our readers vote for their favourites and the destinations get whittled down. By Round 4, we’ll have our provincial winners, which will go head-to-head until only one town remains to be crowned the 2020 SledTown ShowDown Champion of Western Canada.

Here’s what the winner gets:

A shiny SledTown trophy, bragging rights and feature articles on SnoRidersWest.com. Plus, it is a chance to raise positive awareness of snowmobiling and to recognize local clubs for all their hard work.

Social media plays a big role in this contest so be sure to hit “share” after you vote to let your friends know about the contest. You can also follow SnoRiders on Facebook, Instagram and Twitter for quick updates during the contest. Feel free to tag us in photos and use the #SledTownShowDown to promote your favourite town.

If you’re on our e-Newsletter list, you’ll also get SledTown ShowDown news, plus our best snowmobiling stories, each month. Not on the list? Sign up here.

Remember you can vote every day, so rally the troops and give your snowmobile riding destination your support. Voting ends at 11:59 p.m. on Sunday, February 16 for Round 5. 

Related Articles

SledTown ShowDown 2020 SledTown ShowDown: And the winner is . . .

Congratulations to the SledTown ShowDown Champion of 2020: Flin Flon, Manitoba!

by Kyle Born
A sign that says Final 2 Update.
SledTown ShowDown 2020 SledTown ShowDown: Round 6 Update

Round 6, the finals of SledTown ShowDown, is at the halfway point of the voting phase between Flin Flon and McBride

by Kyle Born
SledTown ShowDown 2020 SledTown ShowDown Round 6: The Finals!

Round 6 is here! McBride, B.C., and Flin Flon, Manitoba, go head-to-head to vie for the 2020 SledTown ShowDown championship

by Kyle Born
View all SledTown ShowDown articles